TECO Energy’s Ramil receives Lifetime Achievement Award from USF College of Engineering

From left: USF System President Judy Genshaft, John Ramil and Robert Bishop, dean of the USF College of Engineering.

From left: USF System President Judy Genshaft, John Ramil and Robert Bishop, dean of the USF College of Engineering.

As TECO Energy President and CEO, John Ramil has invested his life’s work in the company he leads. On April 16, the entity that helped him build the groundwork for his success – the University of South Florida’s College of Engineering – recognized him with its Lifetime Achievement Award.

USF System President Judy Genshaft presented the award, part of the school’s Engineering Excellence Awards, to Ramil. After joining Tampa Electric as a USF College of Engineering cooperative education student in 1976, Ramil graduated in 1978. His rise through the ranks at TECO culminated in his promotion to TECO president and CEO in 2010.

Ramil received his Bachelor of Science and Master of Science degrees in Engineering from USF and in 1999 was named USF’s Distinguished Alumnus. In 2001, he was appointed to USF’s inaugural board of trustees, on which he is currently the longest-serving trustee. His four years as chairman of the board of trustees ended in 2014. Recently, he was reappointed by Governor Rick Scott for a term beginning March 24, 2016 and ending Jan. 6, 2021.

“I think my most significant contributions to engineering since graduating were the things I got to do at TECO,” Ramil said in a video produced by USF for the Engineering Excellence Awards. “I was able to put together my technical training and engineering school with business and financial acumen that I developed along the way. And I put together and implemented strategies that improved the company’s environmental profile in a very financially and economically responsible way.”

The Engineering Excellence Awards ceremony, at the Westin Harbour Island Hotel, also honored several others for achievements in the following areas:

Entrepreneurial Award: Kishore Bopardikar, co-founder of Calypso Technology

Dean’s Distinguished Service Award: Dr. James R. Mihelcic, professor and Samuel L. and Julia M. Flom Endowed Chair in Civil and Environmental Engineering

Outstanding Young Alumni Award: Devin Walker, COO Trash 2 Cash Energy

Distinguished Alumni Award: Lakecia Gunter, director of Intel’s Partner Marketing and Engagement Desktop Client Platforms

Distinguished Alumni Award: William Bracken, president and founder of Bracken Engineering

Distinguished Alumni Award: Mark Mondello, CEO of Jabil Circuit Inc.

This entry was posted in Community, News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.